Flannel Slip Tutorial

When I saw a flannel slip tutorial on Magpie Shinies a few weeks back I was floored! Now why didn’t I think of this?!  What better way to stay warm in skirts during winter.

Click the link above to see her tutorial.  I knew I had the perfect flannel to use and found a vintage slip to draft.

Having not sewn in 2 years, it took some serious poking through boxes and drawers to gather what I needed.

Fabric for waistband

Instead of sewing elastic to the waist, I used some super soft jersey from a girls pair of leggings to make a waistband. It will give me flexibility to have the slip down low for longer skirts or hike it up for a short one.

Now put on your favorite leggings or stockings and add that skirt.   Would look great with a pair of boots!

Close up of the decorative stitch

It wasn’t until I was almost done that I even noticed how the flower stitch around the edges matches the flowers in the pattern!

I even found a pair of slippers I started from the same fabric!  Now to finish them up so I can finally wear them.

Unfinished slippers!

It’s such a cozy slip I may just end up wearing it around the house without a skirt!

This entry was posted in Fashion, Projects, sewing, tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flannel Slip Tutorial

  1. SImone says:

    Hey CC… so nice to have you come by my blog today 🙂
    Welcome to blogland… you seem to be finding your way around pretty well!
    I’ve just been checking out all your posts… looks like you are a very handy sewer; this slip looks fab. Loving that Audrey Style too – will look forward to seeing that one when you’ve made it!
    Luv from Simone @ greatfun4kids
    xx

    • Thank you for your kind words! I am wishing I had gone with blogger to start out, can’t get any plugins with this blog! Hahah…
      I seriously need to get better organized and share everything I make. I have a bad habit of zooming through projects and starting another right away. I am hoping with my blog I will take time now to document more and have a record of what I make from now on!

  2. Jenny says:

    Such a cute idea….I am thinking” do I have some fabric in my stash?” I am adding this to my list of projects I want to make.

    Glad you stopped by my blog and thank you for the comment.

    • Hi Jenny! If you are anything like myself and zillions of other seamstresses, you have tons of stash!

      I appreciate your visit and look forward to following your blog in the new year!

  3. PaisleyJade says:

    Stumbled across your site today – love your makings. I love sewing but haven’t quite got as clever with clothing like you have. Can’t wait to see what else you make in 2011. Happy New Years!!!

    • Hello Kristy! Thank you for visiting and leaving your comment. Your crochet and softies are amazing! I could never get the hang of crochet. You have sewing talent and it’s not too far of a stretch to go from sewing stuffies to sewing clothes! I encourage you to give it a go, you can make outfits that are entirely original, unlike RTW. I have added you to my “following” list! Look forward to seeing more of your “makings”! Happy New Years to you as well!

Leave a Reply

